IL 23, 2010

Know your limit

The other day I was at my friends house when her i-phone made a little ring noise caused by an incoming text . I don’t use and i-phone so I thought it was the ice cream truck outside. The ice cream truck at this time of day? I got a little bit excited as I reminisced about the feeling I would get as a kid whenever I was playing outside and in the midst of play I would hear that iconic ring tone – immediately we would all stop what we were doing and RUN as fast as we could to greet that ice cream man. (Remember how far a dollar went back then?)

Nowadays the trucks are parked outside of playgrounds for the entire day. I actually enjoy buying my kids ice cream from the truck as it makes me all nostalgic for the good old days. ( I sound like Im 80 but its so true and you know it.)

But I have one pet peeve (you knew it was coming)….. Whenever I overhear a kid ask their parent for a “special treat” and they point to the ice cream truck (or any type of junk food) I actually wince just a little bit.

What is so special about a candy bar or an ice cream? You can get one at every gas station, every deli or bodega on every corner of the city and apparently in front of playgrounds.

I’ve taught (ok brainwashed) my kids to use the words “Special Treat” when they refer to strawberries in the winter or first taste of summer watermelon. It’s a very special treat when we add a dollop of light whipped cream straight from the can.

Ok, who am I kidding? Of course they don’t really believe that fruit is special but they get the point. (At least that’s what I tell myself). Contrary to what you may think, I actually do give my kids plenty of “junk” food but they know that there’s nothing special about it and that it is just junk- but fun and delicious and within reason perfectly fine. The only caveat I have is that I limit it the way I limit all food categories. I am an equal opportunity food opponent and I will say no if they ask for a third ice cream just like ill say no if they ask for a third banana. I try and teach them to listen to their body and understand when they have had enough.

I had a friend in high school that used to say “I’ve hit my limit” every time we pigged out together. I loved those words. So simple and to the point: “I’ve hit my limit” and I use them to this day. (Often after drinking too much).

So here we are another beautiful weekend is upon us.

Time for BBQ season to begin!!! I promised my kids hot dogs tonight and I intend to let them enjoy and savor every bite – the way kids do. Let’s all learn from that mentality and enjoy our weekend fare. Go for the hot dog if that’s your fancy. But keep in mind to know your limit.I need to remind myself to “hit my limit” before its too late. Let’s all enjoy the ice cream truck and gather back around on Monday for boot camp.

Next week’s posting will be dedicated to fitness videos /reviews and advice for each workout personality and body type. Feel free to post or email me questions. : Balsamj@gmail.com

Enjoy the weekend.

Posted by BalsamFitness at 8

Leave a Reply

