The second act………

Version 2.0: The Second Act……How to get back on track together

So here I am wondering what happened???
 I spent 30 days focused on motivating myself and others (with just a few cheat days here and there) and for some reason- I call it arrogance- I allowed myself to slip in slide back to the dark side of indulging on junk food and slacking in my workouts.
When I sat down to think about what spurred the passage from discipline to dire straits, i realized a common theme I have that I share with yo-yo dieters (the latter category I am not) but its all along the same lines of thinking…… One plans a goal, attains that goal then lets go of that goal because that proverbial rubber band that was was just pulled too tight, at some point had to give and ultimately break.
I am not a dieter nor have I ever been on a fad diet (other than that wonderful 3 days of the ice cream diet which I had lost 7 pounds and then gained 12 back the minute i ate an apple- but alas that was different blog)…..so what brought me to this point Monday June  13, figuring out and planning for “Act 2” of “Lets get shredded together!” ???…..
I still blame it on the arrogance factor.
I felt and looked great so i allowed myself to indulge a little- with little or no aftermath- then allowed myself to indulge a little more- again- with no repercussions (the eating  clean and not counting calories really worked!! I could indulge and still look great!)
BUT THEN…duh duh duh duh……what happened was I indulged not a little more but ALOT more. I actually spent memorial weekend through last night just eating junk food non stop as if tomorrow would never come. I call this the addictive factor. Everyone is addicted to sugar. It’s well known that once you eat it you crave it more as your blood sugar levels crash in the aftermath and you feel sluggish- a body reflex that convinces you to eat more sugar. Its a vicious cycle.
SO here I sit at my desk early on a Monday morning, figuring out version 2.0 of my plan to get shredded by my 40th Birthday (approaching soon).
Who’s with me?
Do any of you relate to this feeling of utter disaster that has fallen upon us? Well, as Susan Powters Stop The Insanity would say:

Stop depriving yourself & eat plenty, just make the right choices.

We all know how to eat clean and i have posted a reminder of the 10 super foods I plan to eat every day to get back on track of success.

So enjoy the fresh start of this wonderful new week and join me on my voyage back to the undead zone. Here is a refresher course (Blog post from Day 8 of my version 1.0 )
Here we go- ACT 2!!!!! After all, we all deserve second chances!!!!!!
Greek Yogurt : Benefits include probiotics for a healthy balance of bacteria in your gut as well as rich in calcium for your bones
Nuts: Terrific source of protein, heart-healthy fats, high fiber, and antioxidants (Almonds and walnuts are best!)
Eggs: Not just a protein source but also contain 12 vitamins and minerals, including choline, which is good for brain development and memory
Salmon : Rich protein source and loaded with omega-3 fatty acids help protect heart health not to mention B12, niacin, and selenium, and is an excellent source of B6 and magnesium.
Berries : loaded with antioxidants, phytonutrients, low in calories, and high in water and fiber to help control blood sugar
Sweet potatoes: Almost as good as a-multi vitamin! contain Vitamin A, vitamin C, calcium, and potassium) and so filling! try cutting them up a baking them with pam spray for sweet potato chips. or mix into salad with lunch! (Other dark orange vegetable standouts include pumpkin, carrots, butternut squash, and orange bell peppers.)
Tomatoes: contain lycopene which helps protect against cancers of the prostate, lung, colon, oesophagus, breast and skin.
Seaweed: can contain up to 10 times more calcium than milk and have a high concentration of natural iodine which  helps to stimulate the thyroid gland so that food fuels are used before they can be turned into fatty deposits. (in other words: fights CELLULITE!!!) Kelp, Kombu and Dulse are al delicious in salads and  I wrap lox in Nori sheets with  cut up cucumber.
Oatmeal : Every morning commercial tells us that oatmeal can lower LDL (the bad) cholesterol, and can help reduce the risk of heart disease (its the beta glucan!) but its also very filling.
Olive oil and Avocados–  Vitamin E and Heart healthy fats and add flavor to salads
Spinach or any Leafy Vegetables rich in calcium, important antioxidants vitamin C and vitamin E, and have been found to reduce macular degeneration
Cinnamon –  not just for flavor but has been proven to help maintain blood sugar levels
Apples :  a powerful source of antioxidants, including polyphenols, flavonoids, and vitamin C, as well as good source of fiber, and potassium.
Legumes and Beans: Not just the “poor man’s meat” but a low fat source of protein, fiber, B vitamins, iron, folate, potassium, magnesium, and many phytonutrients. I dip baby carrots in hummus and  call it my mid-day snack!
Reminder of the rules:
Rule #1: NO negative talk, NO negative Thinking
Rule #2: POSITIVE Energy is your energy force. You MUST say something encouraging and positive about your body every single day. Examples: “I am strong”, “I am healthy”, “I am in control of my life”
Rule #3: NO WHITES * ** NO SUGARS and NO SODA most importantly: NO Eating after 8:00 PM (Except Fruit)
Rule #4: Exercise @ least 30 minutes straight a day and must include Weight training for at least 20 minutes minimum of 3 times per week.
Rule #5: NO skipping meals or counting calories. Eat until you are full. Do not under eat or your body will not metabolize energy sources properly and you will end up slowing down your metabolism rather than speeding it up which is the goal! Personally,  I eat minimum of 1500 – 1800 HEALTHFUL NUTRIENT RICH calories daily.
Make wise choices and you wont need to count.

Leave a Reply

