Who’s fooling who???

When I first got certified as a spin instructor the course teacher instructed us to “fake it till you make it” when it came to the amount of tension a spin teacher should have on their own bike.

The theory was that if we were going to be instructing a group exercise class that we needed to be able to speak clearly during the duration of the class to ensure that our instruction was heard clearly (in other words there is no room to pant in breathless manner with a microphone on!!)

I thought about this advice and tried to practice faking my own workout to see if my breathing improved. Well, no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t bring myself to slack off enough to “fake” spin. (I suppose its because I have never “Faked” anything in my life . Ahem, wink wink) I felt like the wheels just rolled without me and I didn’t enjoy spinning like a hamster on a wheel. But I soon started to realize more and more that so many instructors do just that. Some opt to hop off the bike during a class- a respectable and well needed breath break…some pushed through and you could hear them panting (this platter type are my workout heroes! They don’t let anything stop them from persevering) and others rolled endlessly around that wheel with their hair perfectly in place making jokes and sounding sexy.

But the point is, no matter how hard you push or how fast you go, from what I have learned, you are only fooling yourself. No one else cares. Not the woman next to you. Not the instructor. No one but you is watching or judging.

SO treat yourself with more respect and understand that no matter what the exercise, it doesn’t matter to anyone but you. It’s not a competition. It’s about your own personal goals.

Ask yourself, am I faking it? Then remind yourself that you’re nobody’s fool.

Enjoy the long weekend!!!!! Drink and eat A lot because Monday we are back on track!!!

Leave a Reply

