In honor of Veteran’s day….

 

In honor of veterans day the gym I belong to is hosting a spin- a- thon. (Spin, by the way, for those of you who haven’t tried it, is a group exercise class where an instructor on a stationery bike is  leading the class in front of others on stationary bicycles that have tension knobs that we manually increase and decrease to simulate riding up and down hills – or in some cases quicksand! – often set to a playlist of various music. Music isn’t always entertaining but it distracts you from the exasperation of  being on a stationery bike for 45 minutes!)

I won’t be able to make it to the event and I’m remiss about that. I’m not perturbed that I will miss the actual cycling class but for the reason that the guest instructor that is going to lead the spin class is an actual Vet. He is supposed to be one of the best athletes around. He is known for his constant enthusiasm and upbeat personality. He leads with passion and intense energy and always says positive things to motivate those around him!

He has no legs.

Talk about inspiring. I love to write about inspiration and often ask people “what inspires you?”.

I am always motivated when I hear of stories of people- heros- that have overcome some form of tragedy or illness, a terrible accident- whatever the traumatic case may be- and push themselves to new limits they never thought they could ever reach. Limits most of us never even consider imagining let alone reaching. I am humbled when I think of how easy it is for those of us who are healthy to take life for granted. Each day is a blessing and I for one need to remind myself of this detail more often.

Whenever I feel too tired to go to the gym i try and think about the people in this world who have less and yet do MORE.

Spinning with a huge smile and no legs….now THAT’s inspiring!

Let’s take a minute to think about all our blessings and push ourselves just a little harder this Veteran’s day.

What inspires you? Send feedback!!

 

Leave a Reply

