Whomever is on the scale behind me- GET OFF!…..

 

There is a time and place for everything and I have latterly discovered that it is my time to put myself in place.

What I mean by that is – I recently had to reevaluate what I was eating and for the first time in 3 months, I took a long and very hard  look in the mirror. (The hard part was seeing what was reflected and realizing it was me).

For those of you who know me forever you know that I am a huge eater – a girl who grew up in household of boys, toilet seats up and regular soda. Luckily, I was blessed to have been born with a good genetic build and fast metabolism. My first time ever even tasting Diet Coke was in college and that was only to wash down my 3 slices of pizza I would inhale when I began my drinking career after acquiring a fake I.D. which looked nothing like me but didn’t seem to faze the bouncers.

I also discovered that my body CAN gain weight- but back then my diet secret was simple: “Be 19” .

All I would need to do was skip my daily chocolate bar and I could drop 5 pounds within minutes.

It wasn’t until years later with pregnancy hormones (and the hormones I took to GET pregnant) when I discovered skipping candy wasn’t the best way to lose weight, but rather, I needed to make better choices and thus began my quest to be fit for life.

So back to putting myself in place at this time of life…..

I had to reevaluate WHAT I was eating and, just as importantly, WHEN I was eating it.

You see, back in September, I fell into a bad behavior pattern and started binge eating junk food every day for 2 months straight (it doesn’t matter that the reason- i.e.: “EXCUSE!” was good or bad,  the outcome was still the same: I got FAT). It wasn’t until weeks and weeks and weeks later when I was given a WELL NEEDED family intervention- when i took the first hard look at myself in the mirror and was horrified at what I saw.

I had gained ALOT of weight. Immediately I did what I knew how: like skipping the candy bar in college, I simply stopped the junk cold turkey. I just decided that my health, my family, my life, is more important than the feeling I got when I stuffed myself with Oreos and ice cream.

Half the weight dropped off immediately – the bloat from all the sugar was the first to go….but the remainder of the weight is still clinging on for dear life.

Today I reevaluated my diet. I started journaling every morsel of food I put into my mouth and lo and behold i discovered that I eat so much more than i even realized.

In Weight Watchers they refer to “BLT’s” as Bites, Licks and Tastes. I was doubling my allotted caloric intake with just innocent BLT’s….mostly from my kids leftovers on their half full plates.

I am half way there. I am not counting calories because as a general rule its important to just make healthful choices and eat until you are satiated. But I plan to continue journaling and weighing in – as it is ESSENTIAL to be accountable.

Whoever has been with me on this journey I encourage you to weigh in and take a long hard look in the mirror… I hope you are pleased with what you see. I am going to adamantly remind you that it is paramount NOT to give yourself negative feedback – simply change it around to a POSITIVE pep talk!

You CAN do this! You ARE healthy! Just make sure that your mantras are in the present format not the future. Say things like “ I AM” not “I will be”. Believe me, it helps.

This morning I told myself after putting myself in place that I AM strong and I am getting STRONGER everyday. This is a journey not a sprint. Join me.

Feedback welcome.

2 thoughts on “Whomever is on the scale behind me- GET OFF!…..

  1. It’s so true…every single word! It’s so important to release the bad weight & focus on the good. Every morning, it’s essential to get up out of bed & start with “today’s going to be a great day” not, “uch, I’m too tired & today’s going to be such a drag.” We must GET up & be accountable to have that GREAT day. Chuck the candy, grab a bag of almonds or apple and peanut butter. Better choices head better results!!! You keep going honey!!! Mmmwwwa!

Leave a Reply

