This kind of w(h)ining I’ll listen to!……

 

 

My friend Yael just asked me to research wine as a dietary aid…she clearly knows me well – as wine is one of my favorite food groups – but a diet aid? I was left with no choice but to  leave the kids waiting in carpool lane, let the conference calls commence without me and drop everything to investigate this paramount subject….

So, GREAT news!!!!!!  As you all MUST know by now, I consider wine a fruit and enjoy it every night with or after dinner (and those of you who don’t know that, I mean come on? Are you listening to me at all?)…..

There was a study published in the Archives of Internal Medicine, the group of normal weight women (for some reason men did not have the same results…sorry guys but none of us females feel bad for you because typically if you wanted to lose 5 pounds you just need to skip the snickers bar that day). The women who consumed a light to moderate amount of alcohol (in my opinion light means half a bottle, moderate means entire bottle) gained less weight and had a lower risk of becoming overweight / obese during the 12.9 years of follow up.

The best part of the study – (or maybe I made this up somehow reading in between the lines – my husband always tells me I’m not a good listener – yet I have been praised for my vivid imagination in the bedroom) is that wine seems to rev up your metabolism…in FACT (and yes this next part IS factual)….red wine actually appears to inhibit the development of fat cells and to have other anti-obesity properties!!!! Keep in mind though – wine does have a lot of (natural) sugars so try to imbibe a few hours before bed time.

According to Roger Corder, a cardiovascular expert and professor of experimental therapeutics, “wine drinkers are less likely to suffer from heart disease, diabetes and dementia in old age.” Yay! That means we will be completely ALERT and fully AWARE of our wrinkles and aging aches and pains when we are 90 !!!

The key in wine is resveratrol, which was linked to age extension in mice. Wine seems to prevent certain cancers and is particular beneficial for the heart, preventing hardening of the arteries that can lead to heart attacks and strokes.

Now what about those of us who prefer WHITE wine vs red?  Not to fret….even though red wines have a higher phenol content, white wines have better ANTIOXIDANTS than contained in red wines. So I interpret this as a GREEN LIGHT to go ahead and drink BOTH!!!

One more benefit I probably should mention…..wine can actually aid in digestion- which means it helps break down your food more efficiently!! (Seriously? Can the news get ANY better???!) but beware ladies, it seems that effect only works when drinking before a meal…I guess we will all have to drink while preparing dinner. I know, life is tough.

Just remember folks….the idea is to combine wine drinking with a healthy lifestyle, moderate daily EXERCISE and a clean diet.

So who’s buying the next round?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

