Want to remember your early years?….DRINK up!

 

 

In my never ending quest to justify my drinking wine on a nightly basis I just had to prove ONE more time that there are SEVERAL benefits to drinking alcohol – besides the immediate release of all the tension in my shoulders and the instant ability to tune out the white noise surrounding me –  if only for a fleeting moment. (quick Shout out to Yael for the idea of running the report to prove out cause!)

As I’ve written many times before, the health benefits of drinking wine are a plenty and the antioxidants alone prove noteworthy enough.

But more and more research is coming out now on the benefits of drinking alcohol to PREVENT dementia and Alzheimer’s.

How do i know so much about old peoples diseases and more importantly, why do I care?….Because i live in a land where those conditions seem to afflict my surroundings everywhere I go…especially at the Pharmacy where I have to wait for 45 minutes while the old lady in front of me has to review with the pharmacist every side effect listed on the  enclosed label that comes with EACH of her 18 prescriptions.

 

The study found that elderly men and women who drank moderately were 30 percent less likely to suffer from dementia — and 40 percent less likely to develop Alzheimer’s disease — than those who abstained completely.

Now I know what you’re thinking…..”enough with the old people talk…we don’t ALL live in Florida!!”….your’e right I am aware of that but no worries….there is one more benefit to drinking wine and more pertinent to this blog:

This morning after a week of my usual wine consumption in lieu of my after dinner snack /dessert…..down a few pounds. You heard me right…..if you want to lose weight skip the dessert cookie and have a glass or two… it will help you relax and fall asleep easier and we ALL know the health benefits of sleep!! Why am I skipping my after dinner snacks and drinking instead? STRESS RELEIF!!!!! it certainly helps make the packing  more tolerable!

Disclaimer: DON’T think that wine can replace a meal. DON’T skimp on the water!  (I guzzle over a gallon a day! )DON’T drink irresponsibly make sure you

DON’T need to drive!

DO drink while in a bubble bath!

DO read a relaxing book in bed with the glass.

DO feel free to send me your favorite bottle of white for a tasting!
DO call me anytime to go out and enjoy a glass with you!

DO have a meaningful and productive day!

Remember: How you do ANYTHING is how you do EVERYTHING! (Not my line but I like it):)

Leave a Reply

