I’ll have 3 cheeseburgers, fries and a DIET coke…….

This just in:

The Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI), a U.S.-based nonprofit watchdog group, said Monday that both Coke and Pepsi colas contain high levels of 4-methylimidazole (4-MI), a carcinogen which forms when ammonia or ammonia and sulfites are used to manufacture the caramel coloring that gives the sodas their distinctive brown colors, according to the CSPI.”

The study went on to describe that there is clear evidence that the carmel coloring in Pepsi and Coke are responsible for thousands of CANCER cases in the U.S. each year.

I am not a Doctor, however, I certainly try to pretend I am….and I don’t need to tell you that just MAYBE now would be a good time to quit drinking soda.

If you do a little research on the history of the Coca cola  beverage you’ll find that for years the drink was marketed as a tonic which contained extracts of cocaine.

hmmmm……kind of wishing they hadn’t changed the ingredients now aren’t you?

Dating back to the joyful 1970‘s and the ERA of TAB, SHASTA! and FANTA – my family was always a soda drinking household, only in Chicago we referred to it as “POP”.

If my father heard any of us fancy New York college kids home during spring break asking to pass down the soda – he would simply not pass it. Chicago people can be very stubborn in their Midwestern ways….just ask any Cubs fan who thinks the Cubs are still worth watching.

As kids we were only allowed to have soda on weekends…I guess my parents figured that if they were going to give us chemicals we should limit it to 3 days out of 7….maybe it gave them a feeling of controlling our cancer  …..makes sense right?

We would sit at the table and combine several different flavors in one glass- we called them “Concoctions” – made up of Orange Fanta,

7-UP, Diet Dr. Pepper (only Diet- the regular was just TOO sweet for the recipe to make ANY sense)  and Cherry Coke ….a perfect storm.

Pepsi never stood a chance and YES – we absolutely COULD tell the difference in the taste tests….suck it MAX HEADROOM!

But it wasn’t until college when I discovered that i could eat an ENTIRE pizza , drink 6 beers and order a Diet Coke vs a Regular one and STILL lose weight the next morning (go figure the best diet plan is just…. being 19) that I became yet another statistic to the addiction of  carbonated beverages.

Nowadays I prefer iced tea with lemon and flavored seltzers but even those drinks are loaded with chemicals so I have  cut back some. Once in a while I’ll indulge in some chemical fizz….there’s just something so appealing about sitting at a pool with a  tall glass of iced Diet Coke with a lemon and a good magazine. (By good I mean trashy drugstore gossip kind with at least 3 articles containing a Kardashian).

SO here I am at a crossroads…..is it OK to indulge on occasion on something that clearly has potential to cause cancer??…..Logically I’d have to say probably not.

It’s one thing to over do the Oreos and Ice Cream- they may cause a havoc on the hips but consumed within reason, they won’t kill your white blood count.

Now I know that many of you don’t want to hear this …we all have our addictions (mine is peanut butter) but what we CAN control is just how MUCH WE CHOOSE TO ABUSE our bodies!

I don’t think it’s harmful to have a DIET COKE every once in a while…these studies show that years of consistent consumption can possibly lead to cancer ….that fact alone should deter a NORMAL minded person from ever eating anything with chemicals…Ha !! jokes on them because I’m so not normal – but this study does make me think twice about ALL the chemicals in my diet.

I’ve already cut out most of them and by “most” I mean I switched to truvia from splenda…but every once in a while I do an overhaul of my daily meal plan and REASSESS what I can replace to fulfill my nutrient needs.

So when in doubt I always go BACK TO BASICS and here’s my NEVER FAIL shopping list:

Blueberries

Greek yogurt

Fatty fish

Avocado

Nuts

Legumes

Whole grains like sweet potatoes, brown rice, oatmeal and quinoa

Unsweetened Almond milk

And last but NOT LEAST…WINE!!!!!!! – my favorite Fruit!!

With these daily foods you can’t go wrong so go ahead and have a Diet Coke once in a while if that’s what does it for you but in my opinion I’d rather nix the cancer and opt for the peanut butter…maybe oh so fattening but at least its natural!

Leave a Reply

