It’s Cold in the freezer Aisle….bring your LIES……

Yesterday as usual, I was rushing to complete all my work and errands – a typical day in the life of my job as Superwoman –  so I rushed into Publix for just a few items. I was wearing a sleeveless blouse and a short skirt with sandals. Like any building in Florida, Publix is heavily air conditioned and I usually carry a sweater in my bag for the freezer aisle… but since I was only going to be a few minutes, I left the sweater in the car.

The lady behind me while checking out  (approximate age 82) was wearing a pink sweater, she looked at me and said: “I’m freezing ….you must be SO cold”.

I replied: “No I’m actually comfortable.”

She then said: “I put on a pink sweater this morning and I’m freezing ! You must be SO cold.”

I replied: “No I’m actually O.K.”

She then said: “I put on a pink sweater this morning and I’m freezing ! You must be SO cold.”

I replied: “No I’m actually fine.”

She then said: “I put on a pink sweater this morning and I’m freezing ! You must be SO cold.”

I replied:

“ I’M ABSOLUTELY FREEZING!!!!!”

With that, she smiled ear to ear. I had made her day.

 

Lesson Learned (early in the blog):

Sometimes in life, you just need to tell people what they want to hear.

I suppose we all do this at certain points of our lives. We cater to other people’s desires or needs and give them a version of what they want. Be it through white lies or simply avoiding the facts. Sometimes it’s just EASIER to tell them what they want to hear to get them to just LEAVE you alone. My husband is a MASTER at this….he knows EXACTLY when to AGREE with me – tell me I’m RIGHT- just to get me to back down. (I fall for it every time.)

I suppose there is nothing wrong with this type of social behavior- it’s accepted in this day and age to just evade the truth- Don’t Ask Don’t Tell so to speak – but it works just fine.

Politicians tell us what we want to hear ALL the time. And they leave out the information THEY don’t want us to know….which technically speaking is avoiding a LIE.

As John Edwards faces Day 3 of his trial for illegal use of “campaign funds” to finance his Baby Mama, it highlights the theory of sometimes telling people what they want to hear can get you to the head of the campaign trail(and raise a LOT of funds to support her!)…..only eventually someone finds out and blows the whole cover story.

If you asked Edwards attorney however, she sums it up brilliantly:

“THE TRUTH MAY BE A SIN, BUT IT IS NOT ILLEGAL.”

I’ve covered a few different shades of grey in the  area of LYING but you get the drift…there are many colors of a LIE….from the innocent WHITE ones to the VERY BAD RED ones. (I chose that color because I imagine that any lie that can send you to HELL would be the color RED…no?)

Lies can be innocent and even helpful……BUT be Careful how you apply them and USE them WISELY and responsibly.

As for me, Next time I will take my sweater with me into Publix.

Leave a Reply

