Dear Santa- have I been THAT Naughty???…..

Dear Santa,

Thank you for acknowledging that I was such a good girl this year and bringing me my new puppy!

I really appreciate my gift and it made my Christmas morning so special!!!

Can you come take him back now so I can get a good night’s sleep again?

Thanks so much,

Love, JB

Ok, in all seriousness, my new addition to the Balsam family is a sweet quiet Shitzu who doesn’t utter a single bark. He actually doesn’t do much at all but sit in his cage and rest or follow me around as if I am god. (The latter part I simply love – at least someone in my family acknowledges my reverence – the rest just ignore me).

All my dog owner friends tried to discourage me from getting a puppy. They warned me about the trials and tribulations of house training a “newborn”.

But I wasn’t hearing any of it. You see, I thought I had OUTSMARTED the system.

I purposely and calculatingly found a very reputable Breeder who had already TRAINED him to go outside. I even witnessed this majestic act myself while visiting the first, then the second time.

It didn’t even OCCUR to me that he would need to RELEARN MY HOUSE all over again.

Like any new adjustment, puppies take time to learn their new environment and mine decided to hold in his pee for 14 hours straight despite my multiple efforts to show him (ok – FORCE – him into) his “spot” in the backyard. (My kids kept laughing at me and mocking me by suggesting that, just like DADDY , all HE hears is “blah blah blah” when I speak.  But I seemed to think I knew better and kept talking to him as though we were in a Group Therapy session.)

By 3:00 A.M. he decided it was time to GOOOOOO – only the Nyquil I had taken before bed had such a strong effect on me I didn’t hear his whimpering until it was TOO LATE. After I removed his wet towel all he wanted to do was play – and so did my kids. So by 4:00 A.M. the entire family was up eating pancakes and playing with our new spunky puppy.

So much fun was had by all – but now I am left with the dilemma of training him to get on to OUR schedule.

I need to show him who’s BOSS……. And apparently it’s NOT ME.

So I decided to take on this challenge like I would with my own FITNESS GOALS…..create a SCHEDULE and a ROUTINE and STICK stick to them …such as, but not limited to:

  1. Eat.
  2. Exercise.
  3. Sleep.

(Ok, with slightly more activity in between but you get the drift.)

Seriously?…. Shouldn’t it be THAT simple????

When people ask me about FITNESS advice I always tell them to set GOALS. Make sure you PLAN ahead and KNOW what you’re going to PUT INTO your body and what you are going to DO TO IT in the gym.

Don’t go in without a PLAN.

As you know, one of my favorite cliche’s is “When you fail to plan you plan to fail”. (that and “The Devil Made Me Eat It”. …..So totally 1970’s refrigerator magnet nostalgia – right?)

So, LESSON LEARNED (and summed up by my Dear Old Friend who knows me forever):

“ Although it may FEEL like a newborn, you can’t just WING it and pray for the best like you did with your own babies!”  (I suppose it was no secret that despite the fact that I carried my first born a week over due date- it still didn’t stop me from cramming the night before my appointment to be induced by finally picking up the book “What To Expect When You’re Expecting” and falling asleep after page 3.

Happy Holidays!!!!!

Leave a Reply

