Make it AGE appropriate….

Ever since I turned 30 I have lied about my age.

It used to be cute when I would say “I’m 24 and sticking to it”.

That little quip  would always get a giggle and everyone would say : “You look it!” and THAT  was THAT.

Then slowly but surely the wrinkles set in and the greys would creep up 10 days after I just had them colored and suddenly it wasn’t so cute for me to lie anymore.

Yet I had become so confident in fudging about my AGE that I lost track and it got to the point where i would have to ask my mother what my REAL age was each time a birthday came around.

So when my husband and I were out for dinner the other night and another couple at the table next to us struck up a conversation it took me by TOTAL surprise when they assumed that he was…… my SON.

Yup. You heard me right. They thought I was his MOTHER. (Possibly it was the way I was lecturing and scolding him?? Afterall, he refers to me as his “BALLBUSTER”?)

Now let me tell you that it is true my husband has a youthful baby like face not so unlike a Brad Pitt or Leonardo DiCaprio vs. a say, Sylvester Stallone or Arnold Schwarzzenger.

But what I did NOT REALIZE was that I had an OLDER , MATRONLY face in comparison.

Talk about taking the term ; “COUGAR” to an all new level. (And no, not in the plastic Courtney Cox way either.)

So I made the decision right then and there to CHANGE things once and for all. And no, it does not involve needles or injections.

Lesson Learned:

Sometimes when you LIE about something it will come right back and bite you in your 41 year old ass.

In my case, I have decided that my NEW line when asked about my age will be as simple as this:

“I’m 54. Yes, I take great care of my skin and I have great genes!” At which point people will undoubtedly be amazed.

And most likely, sigh, BELIEVE  me.

But hey, at least I’ll look GREAT for my age!!!

Leave a Reply

