A Smile will Get you a Seat Near the Swim up Bar…..

This past weekend was a busy one here in Florida.

Although I didn’t count –  I am pretty sure every single person who wanted to escape the snow ended up at my club pool. Which meant there were no seats left for us snoozers who did NOT get up at 6 AM to put a towel and an US Weekly on every single lounge chair within a mile of the club.

Which also meant plenty of pissed off members.

Now let me give you some education on the Country Club policies for those of you who haven’t experienced what a real country club PRISON is like.

First of all, there are A LOT of RULES.

A LOT.

Second of all, there are 80 year olds with guns who drive around the gated community all day in Sheriff cars just waiting to ticket you if you god forbid drive faster than 12 MPH (a rule I actually commend. I only wish they monitored the speed on the golf course- these golfers drive like they are in the Indie 500.)

Thirdly, you’re not allowed to remove ANY beverages or snacks from the card rooms or you will be fined $50 (that makes the concessions in the mini fridge of every hotel room look like a Bargain ). This rule I have never kept, and from the looks of some of these card playing ladies bottoms, highly doubt anyone else does either. Just kidding, theyre LOVELY….

Fourth, and definitely not last, but one that NO ONE takes seriously:…no reserving seats at the pool.

So when we got to the club house a little later than I suppose every single guest visiting grandma and grandpa and discovered that we had absolutely no options to even attempt to get a seat within a block radius of the pool, (OK,OK- I admit, it’s not the pool I care about- it’s the proximity to the pool Bistro which serves alcohol)- well, you can imagine how furious I was.

Just as I was about to approach the club manager to complain, a woman with a very thick Long Island accent beat me to it and started balling him out in front of everyone and made a huge scene demanding she get a seat immediately. She was told there was nothing they could do to help her and she would just need to wait until someone left. Needless to say, she was PISSED and left in a huff. (But not before loudly cursing out everyone around her).

I, in turn, took that as an opportunity to take a different approach.

I waited about 5 minutes then gently went up to said manager and asked in my nicest Midwestern accent (and I am in no way implying that Chicago people can’t be nasty or Long Island people can’t be nice- hey I have a lot of NY friends. Not that there’s anything wrong with it) if he could possibly do me the favor (always ask men if they can do you a FAVOR- that word alone is so powerful to the MALE EGO it’s almost ridiculous how it works every time- but alas, that’s a different Blog) of helping me find two chairs somewhere shady. At first, I got the same answer as the woman before me and never being one to give up I simply replied with a “Thank you so much for your effort. If anything comes up please let me know – I really appreciate it.”

And just like that he told me to wait right there and let him see what he could do.

Within minutes, three cabana boys emerged carrying two chaises lounges AND a giant umbrella and set up a spot for me right by the pool (BAR)

Lesson Learned:

Sometimes in life its not WHAT you say but HOW you say it.

Words are powerful but nothing beats a nice smile accompanied by a PLEASE and THANK YOU!

and now for your viewing pleasure:

Leave a Reply

