The original health nut tells all….

Image result for old lady fall  funny cartoon

Yesterday I had a really special experience.

I went to visit my friend’s grandmother. This very active, young at heart, 93 year old woman had recently fallen and hurt her back so she is now stuck homebound for a few weeks.

I walked in and was greeted by her caretaker/aide (who seemed annoyed that I had interrupted her phone conversation and made her actually get up to answer the door  but then gave me a big smile – I suspect it was because she saw I brought donuts).

At first I thought to myself; what am I going to talk about with this elder woman – I don’t know her at all? – But after she declined the donuts that I brought and told me she does not eat junk food- boom! There it was – instant friendship! We spent the next hour and half talking all about her childhood growing up with a mother who was the “original health nut”.

Back in those days (remember- we are talking over a century ago) her mother was lean and health conscious and always watched what she ate and would exercise every day (again- this was before Jack Lalanne was even born…. there were no gyms or juice bars.)

Yet her mother somehow was able to figure out for herself what works and clearly instilled that fitness lifestyle on her daughter.

Now, 93 years later, she went on to explain to me that she had never had surgery or any type of illness and she firmly believes it is because she exercises every single day.prancercise

When I asked her about her injury and how she hurt her back (thinking possibly that it was the typical ‘old lady who fell and broke her hip’ issue – which incidentally, I have learned is the opposite- it’s actually that the old lady’s hip breaks first – usually because of osteoporosis which causes her to fall – but alas, sufficient nutrients and bone density issues are a different blog – stay tuned!)

Her answer was that she fell over a box that had just been delivered to her doorstep and she did not see it –(something that could very easily happen to me – as I am the biggest dingy of them all and trip on everything.)

We turned out to have a really long and meaningful conversation about life and how to live it to the fullest and the healthiest.

Here my friend thought that she was asking me a favor but as it turned out, I felt like the pleasure was all mine.

Lesson Learned:

Sometimes in life when we think we know it all, it takes listening to someone else’s story who has ‘been there, done that’, for many many more years than you, to confirm the results we are striving to attain.

Leave a Reply

