Fake it till you make it….

When my youngest was in kindergarten she would ask me not to come into the classroom when I would come to pick her up from school. Her reasoning was simple – it was too embarrassing for her because I would “smile too hard”.

It’s true, I am a happy person and I do smile all the time, which is why I have those parenthesis around my lips and refuse to infuse them with restylane and most likely never will. (She says now, but fully understands she has the right to withdraw that statement at any time if she so desires – or buys a Groupon – whichever comes first).

My friend never smiles. She tells me this is why she has absolutely no wrinkles. I believe her; her skin is flawless.

I have always been this way, which makes it difficult when I’m mad at my husband and he says something really funny because he knows I’ll crack a smile regardless if I’m speaking to him or not.

Image result for silent treatment funny

My secret to being so happy all the time?

I simply don’t take little things life throws me very seriously.

Don’t get me wrong. I have known tragedy and felt pain. But for the most part, I really do try and separate the things that I can control and either change them, improve them or move on from them. As for the things I cannot control, well those are the secret ingredients to true happiness – the ability to accept that as so and move on anyway- in spite of the obstacles.

It is a proven fact that when you smile, you release endorphins, which are responsible for making us feel happy and lower stress levels. The best part about smiling is that even if you are FAKING it, your brain doesn’t know you’re trying to pull a fast one, and it STILL releases these chemical stimulants.

Sure, you can drink a glass (or two) of wine and still feel that same stress release as smiling offers, but when you smile its also contagious, so you are inevitably spreading the joy.

Lesson Learned:

I’ll leave this one to Mr. Roarke:

“SMILES everyone smiles!”. (And drink your wine too- it does a body good!)

Leave a Reply

